To book a plane ticket, or not to book a plane ticket…

So….everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY — aunts, uncles, cousins, cousins’ kids, Grandpa & his wife, parents, brothers, EVERYBODY — on my dad’s side of the family are at my uncle’s right now, celebrating Grandpa’s 90th birthday.  Everybody, that is, except for Lois, who is on the other end of the country.  God?  Tell me again, are You SURE I’m supposed to be here?!  ‘Cause at the moment, I’m about one impulse away from booking a plane ticket, hijacking a car to the airport, and being home in 24 hours!

~Deep breath~

Choose joy.  Right.  Where is that right now?!?!!

Hmmm.  I guess it could be found in the pleasant afternoon spent in Sarai’s company.  For the last 3 weeks we’ve been saying, “Hey, we need to talk!” and then a couple days later, “We REALLY need to talk!” and then, “Hey, we NEED to talk!”…only, somehow, it always gets pushed away.  Today I was going to spend the afternoon working.  But…we NEEDED to talk!  So we did.  And we made up for the past couple weeks!  At one point, we were just randomly going through Psalms, reading verses that encourage us, or show us who God really is, etc…it was real sweet.

Or in the fact that the school’s hockey team won a game, 9-0!!!!!  YAY!!  This, remember, is our school team that beat a grand total of ONE game last year.  So we’re real pumped about their wins this year!

Haha…it could be found in laughing over the fact that I called my family, at my uncle’s, and no one answered the phone.  I left a message and went back to my room in a saddened, lonely state.  There are few things worse than calling home and getting no answer (or a busy signal).  A few minutes later, Dad called.  “The phone rang, and they were right there, making supper, but they saw the number and thought it was a telemarketer, so they let it ring….”  Haha!  Funny.  Yeah, my relatives don’t love me at all, I guess.  That’s the second aunt who just let the phone ring when I called!  But that’s okay…I forgive them, and we get a good laugh over it later!

It could be found in a pleasant, though brief, phone call to Sanderly tonight.  Rejoicing over the hockey team’s win.  Being glad she and her siblings made it home safely in a storm.  Puzzling over life with her, and laughing over life with her!  AH!  Or instructing her on the art of hypnotizing chickens 🙂

It could be found in the simple things of life.  Like savoring 7-Up fizzing away in my cup, and remembering how that was just the coolest thing ever when we were kids.  Or sleeping in this morning and waking up and feeling alive and NOT tired.  I love weekends!

It could be found in knowing that God is still God.  Whether on the mountain tops, where all I can do is sit back and laugh for the sheer joy of it, or in the valleys, where I just want to go home already, He is still God.

Psalm 18:1-3 — “I will love Thee, O Lord, my strength.  The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.  I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised…”

Leave a Reply

