Contentment

This is one of those “I’ve been thinking posts” (so you’ve been warned, Dyson!)

I usually think of contentment as being okay with where I am at, and resigned to it, having accepted it. But I was reading the April issue of Focus on the Family the other day, and was struck by a new thought.

“Being contented ought to mean in English, as it does in French, ‘being pleased.’ Being content with an attic ought not to mean being unable to move from it and being resigned to live in it; it ought to mean appreciating all there is in such a position.”
~ G.K. Chesterton

The article that quote was in went on to say, “I shouldn’t despise where God has placed me in this season. Nor should I resign to live a comfortably mediocre life. I need to approach each day with the sort of contentment that seeks to make the most of it.”
(From “The Non-descript Adventure” by Ashleigh Kittle Slater)

Wow…a new thought. I do believe my definition of contentment needs a little modification!

In other news today, a skunk just sprayed outside my window.  Charming creature.  I’m going to go shut windows!

3 thoughts on “Contentment

  1. things to be thankful for….
    the skunk did NOT spray you…
    the skunk did NOT spray your cat
    the skunk did NOT spray in the house

    🙂

Leave a Reply

