Lord I Lift My Friend To You…

“Prayer For A Friend”

Lord, I lift my friend to You,
I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You
Complicated circumstances have clouded her view
Lord, I lift my friend up to You

I fear that I won’t have the words that she needs to hear
I pray for Your wisdom, oh God, and a heart that’s sincere
Lord, I lift my friend up to You

Lord, I lift my friend to You
My best friend in the world, I know she means much more to You
I want so much to help her, but this is something she has to do
And Lord, I lift my friend up to You

’cause there’s a way that seems so right to her
But You know where that leads
She’s becoming a puppet of the world, too blind to see the strings
Lord, I lift my friend up to You
My friend up to You

Lord, I lift my friend to You, I’ve done all that I know to do
I lift my friend to You

This song by Casting Crowns is a prayer that is often on my heart as I check Facebook and see various status updates, or talk on MSN (though I’m told MSN is anciently outdated, by now!).  It says what my heart needs to express when I’ve prayed and cried and run out of both words and tears, but the burden is still there.

4 thoughts on “Lord I Lift My Friend To You…

  1. Lois, I feel for you. God is there. He is still God.

    I’m praying for you. I thank God for the heart He has given you for others.

  2. Yes, Lois, the burden is still there, because you still care. This is part of what makes you so beautiful and so easy to love.

    The burden will stay until the friend surrenders his or her will to the Lord.

    I am guessing that each of us reading this post and comments have a list of names of people we love who are making choices that we know will bring them pain and ultimately destruction.

    I lift my friends up with yours. And I lift you as well. May the Lord of all comfort bless your heart with peace as you surrender your friends and their choices to Him.

    Love you Lois.

  3. I echo both Andrew and Mrs. Steele…

    Yes, Lois… my heart grieves for those whose path God has caused to cross mine through facebook… people with whom all other connections have been lost… What a privilege it is to carry everything to God in prayer!… including the burdens of those who don’t even know that they can turn to God with the cries of their hearts…

  4. Lois, I can’t be there to give you a hug, but know that I would if I could. No one could ask for a better friend than you. Please tell my brother to give you a hug from me.

Leave a Reply

