Ahhh….bliss!

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  We have moved!  4th move in less than 4 months, and now we are DONE moving (I think…God, please let us be done?).  Our desire is to settle down here in this area for about 5 years or so.  We both have been all over the place in these last 3-4 years, and need stability.  I would like to not fly across the country every 3-4 months.  Jerry would like to have one job longer than 6 months (I think I’ve written him at 6-7 different addresses since 2006).  We have both been raised in homes where ministry was the focus, so it is in our hearts and we will very likely return to that at some point, though right now we do not know where or how or what direction to head.  So we would like to settle down for a while, give it some time, grow up, give God time to grow us, solidify us, and show us where He wants to use us.

In a way, it’s really weird to be this “grown up.”  And to be living in the same area I lived till I was four.  It’s strangely like coming home.  And yet it’s most definitely NOT!  Growing up is weird.  Your interactions with various people suddenly change when you wear white for one day and then have a “Mrs” title.  Suddenly I’m grown up.  But it doesn’t change the fact that our neighbor down the road, a lady who went to school at KWT and was on staff, and now works in the hospital with me and is seemingly an equal DID teach me in Kids’ Club when I was about 7 years old.  She taught us about angels.  I remember that VERY distinctly!  So to interact with her now as an equal — it feels really weird.  I wonder if I will ever feel like I am actually grown up?

I have a house!!!!!!
We are renting, about 1 minute from the house we were just in (at least moving wasn’t a huge issue that way!)  Mom & Dad and Timothy came this weekend with a van & trailer load of furniture and boxes and wedding gifts, so the floor and countertops and table in my new kitchen look — well, like a tornado hit!  Everything is scattered everywhere, boxes here and there, a few organized stacks of similar items in some places, but…general disaster!  But I love it!

When we were in the other day moving furniture around, I could not believe how open this house is.  The layout of the kitchen/dining room/living room is very open, plus there are 3 big picture windows, plus two smaller ones.  Yes, bad for heating, I suppose, but oh, the brightness!  After living in Grandma F’s house, which was nice, but felt very closed in simply due to older style, this is like heaven.  I’ve always struggled with depression in the winter months, especially at school because New Brunswick doesn’t see the sun a whole lot in the winter. But this house!  And these huge windows!  Ahhhhhh….I think this will be a much better winter!

Moving…unpacking…I am having great fun this morning, trying to bring order to my chaos…rediscovering wedding and shower gifts (it has brought renewed motivation to my “finish thank-you cards” job!)…deciding where I want things permanently…my “C” is in heaven this morning!  I feel like I can breathe again.  I can feel my mind de-cluttering.  (don’t laugh!  It’s true!)

Well, I’m going to get back to work now!  I’ll post this when I go back over to Grandma F’s to finish cleaning up.

This makes my “C” VERY happy!YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  We have moved!  4th move in less than 4 months, and now we are DONE moving (I think…God, please let us be done?).  Our desire is to settle down here in this area for about 5 years or so.  We both have been all over the place in these last 3-4 years, and need stability.  I would like to not fly across the country every 3-4 months.  Jerry would like to have one job longer than 6 months (I think I’ve written him at 6-7 different addresses since 2006).  We have both been raised in homes where ministry was the focus, so it is in our hearts and we will very likely return to that at some point, though right now we do not know where or how or what direction to head.  So we would like to settle down for a while, give it some time, grow up, give God time to grow us, solidify us, and show us where He wants to use us.

In a way, it’s really weird to be this “grown up.”  And to be living in the same area I lived till I was four.  It’s strangly like coming home.  And yet it’s most definitely NOT!  Growing up is weird.  Your interactions with various people suddenly change when you wear white for one day and then have a “Mrs” title.  Suddenly I’m grown up.  But it doesn’t change the fact that our neighbour down the road, a lady who went to school at KWT and was on staff, and now works in the hospital with me and is seemingly an equal DID teach me in Kids’ Club when I was about 7 years old.  She taught us about angels.  I remember that VERY distinctly!  So to interact with her now as an equal — it feels really weird.  I wonder if I will ever feel like I am actually grown up?

I have a house!!!!!!
We are renting, about 1 minute from the house we were just in (at least moving wasn’t a huge issue that way!)  Mom & Dad and Timothy came this weekend with a van & trailer load of furniture and boxes and wedding gifts, so the floor and countertops and table in my new kitchen look — well, like a tornado hit!  Everything is scattered everywhere, boxes here and there, a few organized stacks of similar items in some places, but…general disaster!  But I love it!

When we were in the other day moving furniture around, I could not believe how open this house is.  The layout of the kitchen/dining room/living room is very open, plus there are 3 big picture windows, plus two smaller ones.  Yes, bad for heating, I suppose, but oh, the brightness!  After living in Grandma F’s house, which was nice, but felt very closed in simply due to older style, this is like heaven.  I’ve always struggled with depression in the winter months, especially at school because New Brunwick doesn’t see the sun a whole lot in the winter. But this house!  And these huge windows!  Ahhhhhh….I think this will be a much better winter!

Moving…unpacking…I am having great fun this morning, trying to bring order to my chaos…rediscovering wedding and shower gifts (it has brought renewed motivation to my “finish thank-you cards” job!)…deciding where I want things permanently…my “C” is in heaven this morning!  I feel like I can breathe again.  I can feel my mind de-cluttering.  (don’t laugh!  It’s true!)

Well, I’m going to get back to work now!  I’ll post this when I go back over to Grandma F’s to finish cleaning up.

2 thoughts on “Ahhh….bliss!

  1. Enjoy the space! Enjoy the brightness! Enjoy being grown up! You can’t go back now!! Might as well enjoy it!! Actually, as Dave preached most of one year, “Enjoy the journey!” –I’ll say the journey of growing up 🙂

  2. well… I probably have LOTS to say… (wouldn’t you know it!? 🙂 ) but I won’t take the time now… besides, you probably already know what I would say anyway!

    What I’ve found to be weird in growing up is that my husband is the field director for a missionary couple in my parent’s generation (in fact, their friends). We’ve learned to continue to appreciate their wisdom and counsel. Also – more weird feelings from my age group… being the generation that is now sitting back and watching the younger generation take care of their little ones. It didn’t seem that long ago when I was doing that! (I noticed it particularly when visiting my older sister and her family when they were camping… my sister and I and our husbands sat in lawn chairs, while her daughters were caring for the small children… weird!). Anyway… I’m identifying with you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

