Late-night musings….

Tomorrow we head for the city, probably, so we’ll be able to get into the hospital early Monday morning and get things started with this child.  He has one more day to move out on his own, and if he doesn’t take the opportunity, he’ll be evicted.  HA!  Speaking of eviction, I found this following paragraph somewhere in my online travels in the last few days.  Unfortunately, I don’t remember where I found it in order to properly give credit where credit is due, but then, the lady who posted it didn’t write it either.  But here it is.

“I am issuing 30 day notice for EVICTION. Tenant will have 2 days in which he can either gather his belongings and promptly vacate the premises, or wait until the final day. After which, he will be physically removed from the property. He’s being evicted due to breech of contract and destruction of property. Expansions only to the FRONT of the house, within reasonable limits, were discussed. Not only have these limits been exceeded, but additions to the back of the house were also made! Remodeling and gutting of the home was never approved, nor was changing the initial layout and base structure. On top of which, the landlord has received numerous complaints about nightly disturbances. After 2 days from this day that he doesn’t comply with the notice will result in immediate and forceful removal at my discretion…..”

I rather expected Murphy’s Law to kick in and for labor to start today, judging from the storm we’ve had the last couple days.  There’s no way we can get out of driveway with the car right now, and Jerry will have to beat a track down with the 4Runner before we can leave tomorrow.  Hopefully tomorrow brings the snowplows, not more snow!

I was starting to get a little freaked out at the prospect of labor.  Especially artificially induced labor!  But then today was another horrendously sick every minute of the day, carry my bucket around all day, feel like throwing up everything I put inside me day.  I suppose I needed one more day like that to push me into labor.  Labor will be bad, I hear.  But it won’t last 24/7 for 36 weeks.  Bring it on!

It’s strange to think that we will leave our cozy little home tomorrow, and the next time we return we will be “Three” and there will be a little baby with us.  It’s strange to think that the morning after we come back, I will wake up and NOT feel sick.  I literally cannot fathom that.  My brain does not comprehend that anymore.  Not sick?  What IS that?  I might actually be able to snuggle with my husband again?  For many months this summer the best comfort he could offer me was from a distance, because being touched only made me worse.  It petered out some in fall, but I am looking forward to it being completely gone!

Life with a baby will definitely be very different.  From what people tell us, it will be terrible and awful and we will never sleep again  (what’s the difference? — I’m up at 3 AM right now anyway!) or get anywhere on time, or have anything that remotely resembles a life, and two weeks after the baby’s born I will wish it was back inside me where the cries are quieter…

But I have this sneaking suspicison that though different and challenging, it won’t be QUITE that bad 😉 And no matter what they tell me, I am looking forward to it!

 

4 thoughts on “Late-night musings….

  1. In my experience, life with a baby most definitely WILL NOT be terrible or awful. It will be beautiful. Yes, it may have some difficult spots……… and a full night worth of sleep will likely become a distant memory ……. but only for a time.

    You will have in your arms a precious, beautiful, created by a Master, work of art, and eternal soul. How amazing is that?!

    And yes, there may be a day or two here and there that you will wonder why you were in such a hurry to have him or her on the outside.

    You will learn a new routine to get where you need to go…. you will be able to get there on time.

    You will most definitely have a life!!!!! A new one for sure! One where you and hubby have the best interests of a very important someone to consider with every decision. It is most definitely a life. A wonderful one!!!!!!!

    The next thing “they” might tell you about is the terrible two’s………….. we chose to have TERRIFIC two’s ….. they are wonderful little creatures!!! Exploring and learning anything and everything that we dare to leave out for them to examine!

    Lois…….. and Jerry….. both of you….. I pray with my whole heart that you will enjoy every moment (easy and difficult) that the Lord blesses you with through the life of this precious little one. I pray that you will both allow Him to refine you into whatever form He has in mind for each of you.

    Parenting is definitely not an easy role, but it is such a huge privilege! Value that………… don’t listen to all that other stuff! “Whatever things are good and lovely ……”

  2. Amen to Mrs. Steele’s response. I like your outlook on life. There is always joy in the journey, no matter what the journey looks like.

  3. I say “Amen” and “Amen” to Mrs. Steele!! Yes, life will be different–full of love, hugs, wet kisses, dirty diapers, food messes, “beautiful” artwork for your fridge, friendship, challenge, knee bending moments, and much prayer. (and much more) But each “stage” is great and not to be feared, but to be treasured. We loved it all–even with you!! 🙂 Life is such a beautiful gift!! Enjoy the journey!

  4. Mrs. Steele, that was perfect timing…thank-you so much for your words of encouragement!
    And Mom — you mean you even loved it when I was screaming my head off with colic?! Wow! Glad I didn’t scar you guys too badly!

Leave a Reply

