Christmas Highlights, Part II

Dec. 20
The highlight of the day was definitely 2 hours of floor hockey with KWT people, and the town guys. Ahhh…what bliss! Nothin’ like KWT hockey…

Dec. 22
Today was an accomplishing day. Among other things, I vacuumed. With “the beast” as I call it. Affectionately, of course. Actually, no, the “affectionately” is a complete outright lie! Vacuums with the pull-along-behind-you-and-catch-on-everything drive me crazy. But I lived. Luckily. And so did IT. Not so luckily!

-30 degrees Celcius this morning. It’s officially cold! Can I go back east?! I thought it was colder out there, because the humidity makes it feel colder. But after the last couple days at home, I’m not so sure. Or maybe I’ve just turned into a wimp…

The highlight of today was talking to a friend over MSN just now. I was tired and stressed and life is crowding in in several areas and no answers are being produced and I think I shall go crazy. So I started talking to this guy, in hopes of being cheered up. Well, he put on his webcam, and I could see him bobbing his head in time to his music, and the smiles creeping across his face at various times, and him laughing when he was teasing me. I watched his face like a hawk when he was stringing me a line and the instant his face cracked a small smile I knew I was right NOT to believe the story he was weaving for me! (girlfriend Leslie my foot!) I think seeing the smiles on HIS face did me more good than anything else!

Dec. 23
Mom & I played Scattegories with my friend and her mom this evening. It was fun. When her mom (and us) were disputing one of my friend’s answers, she was like, “It’s got to exist! I know it must, somewhere! Google it!” I completely lost it, at that! Google it?! That struck me as the ultimate generation gap! No more pulling out the dictionary to prove a word, or the atlas to prove a place, Mom. Nope, Google it!

It was so good to be back in my church on the reserve today. There’s nothing like it. The hustle and bustle of rearranging the church and setting up tables for the potluck after the service. The kids running everywhere and getting in everyone’s way, and trying to get to the pulpit to talk in the microphone. Plates (and plates and plates!) of food being taken home for aunties, uncles, nieces, brothers, sisters, grandmas, etc, who didn’t come. Ah, yes, I am SO back in my church! This is the culture I am used to, and it is unbelievably good to be back in it!

I taught Sunday School today. One girl asked me, “You know there’s people in other countries with no food to eat for Christmas; why can’t someone send a plane to get them, and bring them here so they can eat?” Such a soft caring heart.

One thought on “Christmas Highlights, Part II

  1. Okay, ya, I still think my Google thing is hilarious. I actually did google it, and my mom was surprised there was a song! This is a big world…It must be around there somewhere.

Leave a comment